2010 MLB Draft – First Round Analysis

The Cubs drafted Hayden who? Isn't that the girl from Heroes?

Who am I kidding?  I don’t know enough about all these college and high school kids to do a real analysis.  Besides, I’m not supposed to be within 200 feet of a school. . . . or a Chuck E. Cheese, so scouting would be impossible.  But I do know that Keith Law is qualified to give some analysis, and as a Cardinals’ fan I like what he has to say:

  • On Cardinals’ first round pick (25 overall), Zack Cox:  “Cox to STL, pick of the night so far.”
  • On Cubs’ first round pick (16 overall), Hayden Simpson:  “I haven’t heard anyone mention Simpson as a potential first rounder this entire spring.  One club I know had him in the 4th-5th rounds, and I can’t imagine he wouldn’t have made it to day two had the Cubs not taken him.  He’s 90-92 with a decent curve and average or better command and control.”

For a real recap of the first round, click here.  For more mind numbing banter and bad jokes, by all means, stick around.

This entry was posted in Key Ingredients and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

