In unrelated incidents, Pete Rose denies corking his bat; loses all of his old memorabilia in a car fire

Say it ain't so, Pete.

Well, not even Pete Rose would have bet on this happening.  Once again, Major League baseball’s all time hits leader finds himself in the middle of controversy, but this time it involves on the field actions.  Upon hearing that his name was again swirling in the headlines, Rose responded, “How many times do I have to tell you that I didn’t bet on baseb. . . sorry, bad habit.  I mean, how many times do I have to tell you I didn’t cork my bat.  But let’s say hypothetically I did.  How is anyone going to find out now?”

When told that one of his old bats had recently been x-rayed, and looked to be filled with cork, Rose replied, “That’s your opinion.  I’m saying I didn’t cork my bat.”  Then followed, rather defensively with, “Who are you going to believe?  Some nerd with a bat and an x-ray machine, or me?  C’mon, I’m already the all time hits leader, what do I have to gain by lying in this situation?”

In an unrelated story, a car was found burning near Pete Rose’s home in Florida.  Outside the car, police found a gas can and a book of matches.  Inside the car were the charred remains of a few dozen baseball bats.  Currently, investigators are calling it an accident.  Pete Rose had this to say, “This is very unfortunate.  I mean, what are the odds that on the day I was taking all of my old bats to be inspected so I could prove I didn’t cork them, my car suddenly burst into flames.  I guess you guys will just have to take me at my word.”

This entry was posted in The Unreal News and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

