Zack Greinke: Interview Extraordinaire

Zack Greinke should be forced to give interviews following every game, whether he pitched or not. Here’s some highlights of the interview:
On his new teammates:

“I like a lot of the guys. I haven’t seen anyone yet that’s annoying to me. They’ve all been good.”

On talking to reporters:

“Probably 99% of the time I do it like this is because every day I come to the park and want to get focused on my start, and then random people come and waste my time talking every day. It takes eight minutes to get a real question out because they’re like buttering me up. Then they get to the question and it’s a stupid question. So it’s a waste of 10 minutes, and in that 10-minute time I don’t get to do what I needed to do.”

On talking to other people:

“To talk to people, I have to spend energy talking to them,” he said. “If I expend my energy on talking to people and making friends, it takes away from the energy I could focus on getting ready to pitch. I try to avoid nonsense talk. It wears me out to do stuff like our meetings every day. If I actually listen to the person talking, it’ll wear me out. So I kind of go into a little daze. Then I’m still refreshed from it.”

This entry was posted in Key Ingredients and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

